Touching your heart with har gow

The best thing about yum cha is that you get to eat many different things and unless you don’t eat seafood or pork, there’s a huge variety to choose from.

Yum cha literally means to ‘drink tea’, while dim sum is a collective term that encompasses the whole range of things you eat at yum cha. Dim sum translates to ‘touch the heart’.

I like going with my family as no one scrunches up their face if I want to order offal or chicken feet. Growing up eating these, it feels normal. There are very few things that I won’t try at least once.

My barometer for a great yum cha restaurant is always har gow (steamed prawn dumplings). They’re a yum cha classic. My mum and I made some a few weeks back. I wrapped mine appallingly but it is amazing how quickly they improve if you practise. Luckily once they were cooked, they didn’t look half bad. The magic of steam!

20111220-123651.jpg

