Tahini apple slaw

I can’t sleep and I need to buy myself a couple of new sketchpads tomorrow (I may or may not have thrown some out in a rage!). So, a food post it is.

I love Middle Eastern ingredients like tahini, pomegranate molasses, sumac and rosewater. Plus cheese in a can! I have to write a post about cheese in a can soon.

This is a really simple apple coleslaw with a tahini dressing. I have a picture of one I made recently so thought it’d be an easy to blog about it at 3am in the morning.

Tahini apple slaw

Tahini apple slaw (without snowpeas on this day)

Seasonings should be to your own taste. Unless you’re baking, I don’t think you need to follow any recipes slavishly. Trust your own judgement.

Feeds: 6+ people (maybe less but I don’t eat coleslaw by the bucketful)
Ingredients:

    • 1 quarter of a cabbage, finely sliced/shredded
    • 2 apples (I like pink lady for this but whatever you like. Preferably not red delicious which must be the most boring apple in the world.)
    • 150 grams of snowpeas, washed and finely sliced
    • 2 tablespoons of tahini
    • 1 tablespoon of honey
    • Juice of a 1/2 a lemon, a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar or 1/4 cup of fruit juice of choice
    • 1/4 cup of water
    • Salt, to taste
    • 1 tablespoon of toasted sesame seeds – optional

Method:

  1. In a bowl, whisk the tahini with the lemon juice (or cider vinegar or other fruit juice). I often like to use apple but many kinds of juice work. I used guava juice once. The tahini will seize up and gain the texture of a thick peanut butter. This is normal.
  2. Mix in the honey and the 1/4 cup of water slowly. This will loosen up the mixture so it’s more like a normal creamy dressing. Add salt to taste. If it seems too thick then add a touch more water (keeping in mind that some liquid will exude out of the cabbage after a bit).
  3. Place the shredded cabbage and snowpeas into your salad bowl. Slice up the apples thinly and julienne into strips and then gently mix in the dressing until it’s almost all lightly coated. Better to put in just a little less dressing than too much.
  4. If you have any toasted sesame seeds, it’s also nice to add a tablespoon to give added crunch too but it can make the sesame flavour a bit over the top.

P.S. You’ll notice that my recipe postings are really inconsistent at the moment as I haven’t settled on a single design. Hopefully I’ll standardise it soon.

