Fennel and snowpea slaw

I’d been saying for ages that I’d make pulled pork for my friend Luce. Today I made good on my promise.

I did a play on the pulled pork I’ve made before but added a teaspoon each of smoked paprika and cumin to the marinade this time to punch up the spicing. We ate the pulled pork in white corn tortillas with fennel and snowpea slaw and sriracha mayonnaise (recipe to come!). The aniseed scent of the fennel really went well with the sweet pulled meat.

Refreshing and sweet fennel and snowpeas

Refreshing and sweet fennel and snowpeas

The dressing is just olive oil and a tiny squeeze of lime juice just before serving. Note that the lime juice does discolour the snow peas slightly over time so it’s important not to dress it too early. Is it still technically a slaw without cabbage? Oh well, I feel the julienned slices make it slaw-like so that’s what I’m calling it.

I rarely buy fennel to use at home and after making this, I think I should utilise it more.

A simple slaw

A simple slaw

Feeds: 4 people as a side dish
Start cooking: 15 minutes before eating

Fennel and snowpea slaw

Ingredients:

  • 1 x large fennel bulb, with fronds reserved
  • 200 grams x snow peas
  • 1-2 tablespoons x olive oil
  • 1 x tablespoon x lime juice
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Method:

  1. Vary the amount of snow peas and fennel according to your tastes. Using a mandoline or vegetable peeler, shave the fennel bulb into your serving bowl.
  2. Top and tail the snow peas and blanch in boiling water for 1 minute. Immediately refresh in cold water until cool.
  3. Julienne the snow peas length wise and place on top of the fennel. The little peas inside may pop out but this will just add more texture to the salad.
  4. Drizzle the olive oil over the mixture and toss.
  5. Just before serving, add in the lime juice and salt and pepper to taste and mix again. Sit the delicate reserved fennel fronds on top and serve.

Celery leaves (the baby ones near the heart) and apple would be a great addition to this salad too.

