Hot smoked salmon salad

I walked through the steady drizzle to the local farmers market this afternoon. An umbrella shielding me from the rain, I kept my eyes on the ground to avoid puddles. Stepping through the glowing gold, orange and sienna autumnal leaves strewn over the path, it was a relaxing walk through the cool air. If it was a sunny day, my gaze would have been held higher and I might have missed the vivid colours.

Soft, smoky salmon

Soft, smoky salmon

The weather actually worked in my favour with less people crowding the market and I was able to quickly access the stalls. Near the entrance of the market, I noticed a stall that I haven’t come across before. I’m sure it’s there every week but with so many people milling around, I’m usually preoccupied with just trying to navigate my way into the market. It’s good to have a reminder to slow down and take more notice of your surroundings.

The stall sold hot smoked salmon that was smoked on-site at the market that day. I really liked the intense smoky flavour of the fish that was meltingly soft without being excessive seasoned. Sometimes smoked goods are extremely salty and I like being able to control the salt level in a dish. Wandering deeper into the market, later on I picked up some fresh hot pink stained radishes. Radish, you are one beautiful vegetable!

Red radishes

Red radishes

I’m guilty of posting many recipes that takes hours to prepare and/or cook. Partly because I value scarce skills and techniques that I fear will be lost one day and partly because although I’m not patient in general, I love the anticipation that comes with preparing a meal over a few hours.

But everyone loves a lazy day and I’m no exception. This salad combining hot smoked salmon and radish is more of an assembly job. Best of all, it’s light, delicious and healthy. Not everything needs hours of faffing about and fancy techniques.

Each person is allocated a small amount of smoked fish but if you want to up the protein content, add some soft cheese or halved soft boiled quail eggs to each plate.

Muted horseradish flavours set off the salmon

Muted horseradish flavours set off the salmon

Feeds: 2 people
Start making: 5 minutes before eating

Hot smoked salmon salad

Ingredients:

  • 300 grams x hot smoked salmon
  • Mixed leaves, washed
  • 4-6 x radishes, thinly sliced
  • 1 x tablespoon x lemon juice
  • Fruity extra virgin olive oil, to taste
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Method:

  1. Thinly slice the radishes and add to the mixed leaves.
  2. Dress the vegetables with olive oil until just lightly coated. Pile the leaves in the middle of each plate.
  3. Gently break the salmon into small pieces and evenly divide between servings.
  4. Squeeze lemon juice over the salad and season with salt and pepper to taste.
