Dragon Boat Festival 2012

The Dragon Boat Festival for 2012 falls on this coming weekend. I’d been wondering why my bamboo sticky rice posts (zong zi) were suddenly increasing in popularity. Guiltily, I don’t take that much note of the traditional Chinese festivals and I rely on my mum informing me when they’re due to happen. The official festival is always on the 5th day of the 5th month of the lunar calendar.

The weather is cooling rapidly in Sydney and what better way to celebrate this weekend than with a few sticky rice parcels! It’s hearty, stick-to-your-ribs kind of food.

The sharp pointy top of the pyramid

Amazing, it’s my lye water sticky rice post (the ones I don’t even like to eat!) that’s getting the most traffic. Looks like my mother’s hunch was right; not that many people know the exact proportions of the lye flavoured variety.

I prefer the savoury kind but if people are still making them and keeping the traditions alive, then that’s pretty cool. Food is an enduring connection to your ethnic cultural background. You may never care about history, whether it’s political or even family but most people like to eat!

Identifying as both Australian and Chinese, if I’m overseas and someone asks me where I’m from, I always say Australia. Funnily enough, someone asked me once who I would barrack for in a sporting event. She’s Indian and automatically assumed the answer would be China. My dad and mum, despite the fact that they studied in Australia and met each other here, would always choose China since it’s their cultural heartland. Yet they grew up in Hong Kong and Malaysia, respectively.

I spruik for Australia. But it doesn’t mean I can’t eat a sticky rice parcel while I’m doing it.

