Malted peanut rice squares

Salted, roasted peanuts pressed into rice base

Salted, roasted peanuts pressed into rice base

Peanuts! Malted milk! Chocolate! Rice bubbles! Marshmallows! This is practically a chocolate bar.

Everyone should have some sweet treats up their sleeve that require minimal cooking. When I first moved into my apartment, my gas oven didn’t work. I could hear the soft hiss of gas but whenever I lit up the burners at the back of the oven, after briefly flaring up, they’d splutter and fizzle out. The stovetop worked fine but I couldn’t seem to get the oven to stay on, despite sticking my head in to wiggle some valves at the back (not when the gas was flowing! Don’t try this at home kids). A few months ended up rolling by. [I own the apartment so am a terrible landlord to myself.]

But I remained the eternal optimist and made sporadic attempts to try the oven. One day it just worked and it’s stayed functional ever since.

Distinct rice, fudge and chocolate ganache layers

Distinct rice, fudge and chocolate ganache layers

My friend Kitty returned recently from a mischief filled trip to Europe and since she has a raging sweet tooth, I thought it’d be fun to make Kitty something sweet to welcome her home. Kitty loves her malted milk and my eye was caught by a malted peanut butter rice crispy recipe. Roasted peanuts and a simple peanut butter fudge are layered on top and the whole thing is covered with chocolate ganache.

Peanut fudge layer

Peanut fudge layer

My crispy rice base turned out faintly pink as I used a mix of vanilla and raspberry marshmallows. I recommend using only vanilla marshmallows (for flavour reasons only) and I’ve reduced the amount of sugar in the peanut fudge as I think it’s sickly sweet. Cut into tiny squares, it’s a crispy, gooey and very rich mouthful. I feel a little fearful of how unhealthy it is. I ate a single piece and am giving the rest away.

Unlike a lot of the recipes posted here, this isn’t original (or traditional Chinese). It’s a combo of two recipes that I found online. So I take no credit for it or for your expanding waistline if you decide to make it.

Feeds: 40 people (Incredibly rich and sweet, a batch feeds a lot of people).
Start cooking: 2 hours before serving

Malted peanut rice squares
Adapted from this and this.

Ingredients:

  • 5 cups x rice bubbles (rice krispies)
  • 400 grams x peanut butter
  • 400 grams x icing sugar (powdered sugar)
  • 250 grams x vanilla marshmallows
  • 250 grams x butter
  • 250 grams x dark cooking chocolate
  • 1/2 cup x malted milk powder
  • 1 heaped cup x roasted peanuts, roughly chopped
  • 1 teaspoon x vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup x cream
  • 1 teaspoon x salt (optional)

Method:

  1. Grease a large tray with butter or spray with vegetable oil.
  2. In the large pot, melt 50 grams of butter and marshmallows over low heat for 4 minutes, stirring regularly.
  3. Once you have a smooth paste, mix in 150 grams of peanut butter and malted milk powder until incorporated. It will be quite thick.
  4. Turn off the heat and working very quickly, fold through rice bubbles.
  5. Pour crispy rice into your prepared tray and spread evenly. Gently press chopped peanuts on top. It will firm up as it cools.
  6. In the meantime, start the peanut butter fudge by melting 200 grams of butter with 250 grams of peanut butter. You can do this in a medium saucepan over a stove on low heat or more simply, melt in a large bowl in the microwave for 2 minutes.
  7. Stir salt, vanilla extract and icing sugar into peanut butter fudge until completely combined.
  8. Layer peanut butter fudge over rice base and cool for at least 30 minutes.
  9. Melt chocolate and cream together on low heat and mix until smooth and glossy.
  10. Spread chocolate ganache over peanut layer and chill in fridge for an hour until firm. Carefully slice into small squares to serve.
A half batch. This makes a lot!

Half the batch. This makes a lot!

