Duck fat roasted potatoes

I may be completely biased as a potato lover but duck fat roasted potatoes are some of the most delicious potatoes you’ll ever have. Not that I recommend you eat them very often as they’re so rich.

Crispy and fluffy is roasted potato nirvana

Crispy and fluffy is roasted potato nirvana

Since I’d already rendered out some duck fat out of the duck breasts for the Winter Feast, I was able to use it to roast potatoes. I love not wasting anything! The secret to stellar roasties is to parboil the potatoes and then rough ’em up by tossing with the duck fat before baking so you get some crunchy edges. Somehow the duck fat also brings out all of the best potato flavour.

I served this alongside the caraway duck as a side dish so everyone could have as much as they pleased. All in all, it was still a big main course so we had a break and some Mariage Frères cherry blossom tea to aid digestion before I presented dessert.

I don’t always peel my potatoes for roasting as I’ve read that most of the potato’s nutrients lie just under the skin. The lazy person inside of me loves not having to peel kilos of potatoes too.

Feeds: 8 people as a side dish
Start cooking: 40 minutes before eating

Duck fat roasted potatoes

Ingredients:

  • 1.5kg x potatoes
  • 3 tablespoons x duck fat
  • Salt

Method:

  1. Scrub potatoes until clean and then cut into inch wide cubes. If you make uneven sizes, you get a fun mix of textures.
  2. Preheat the oven to 200 degrees (390 F).
  3. Heat up 2 litres of water with a tablespoon of salt in a large pot until boiling.
  4. Add potatoes when boiling and cook for 5 minutes.
  5. Strain the water out of the pot carefully so only the potatoes remain.
  6. Stir in the duck fat and shake the pot so the cubes lose their sharp edges and the fat starts to being absorbed by the potatoes.
  7. Pour the potatoes into a baking tray and sprinkle with 1 teaspoon of sea salt. Roast potatoes in the oven for 25-30 minutes until golden and crispy.
