White chocolate and lime cookies

Sugar, salt and fat. The unholy food trinity gets a lot of bad press. I think the real question is, when did it become normal to have a sweet treat every day?

Sweet, salty and buttery. The lime saves it all from becoming sickening.

Sweet, salty and buttery. The lime saves it all from becoming sickening.

Living with someone (anyone!) usually means my feeding tendencies emerge with a vengeance! My friend Loulou is moving back to Sydney and will be staying with me for a little while. She has a sweet tooth too so that would normally spells double doom. So I’m going to try to keep the baked goods to a minimum. I usually give most of it away but everyone is trying to turn over a new leaf in January so I’m kind of running out of willing recipients.

With hits of lime and creamy white chocolate, this is the second most popular biscuit I’ve ever baked. The spicy cherry and almond ones are currently in first place. I first made these almost a year ago and have made a few batches since then but haven’t written about them until now. There’s something about the combination of lime with a little sea salt that seems addictive. It’s something you’d eat once every few weeks, rather than everyday. I think the crunchy flakes of sea salt really makes it special and since it’s homemade, you can control how much ends up in the end product.

I have much love for my microplane!

I have much love for my microplane!

Quick to pull together, no resting of the dough is required. To focus the taste on the limes and reduce the richness, I increased the lime juice and zest and scaled down the proportion of white chocolate. I gave most of the cookies to my brother (he had first dibs since he gave me the limes in the first place).

Feeds: Makes about 30 medium sized cookies
Start cooking: 1 hour before eating

White chocolate and lime cookies
Adapted from Evil Shenanigans

Ingredients:

  • 250gm unsalted butter, softened
  • 420 grams x plain flour
  • 100 grams x raw caster sugar
  • 100 grams x light brown sugar
  • 2 x large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon x vanilla extract
  • 3 tablespoons x lime juice
  • 2 tablespoons x lime zest (zest of two-three limes)
  • 1 teaspoon x sea salt flakes
  • 1 teaspoon x baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon x baking powder
  • 250 grams x white chocolate chips

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 180 C / 360 F. Line baking sheets with baking paper or a silicon baking mat.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, cream the brown sugar, white sugar and butter until it turns paler and is just combined.
  3. Add eggs one at a time, then stir in vanilla extract, lime juice and lime zest.
  4. Sift together the flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt.
  5. Mix the flour mixture into the creamed until incorporated. Fold in the white chocolate chips so they’re evenly distributed.
  6. Scoop/shape the dough into inch wide balls and place six to eight on the baking sheet, allowing at least an inch around each cookie for spreading.
  7. Bake in the preheated oven for 12-15 minutes until centres are just firm. The cookies will remain quite pale with a light golden edge.
  8. Allow the cookies to cool for 10 minutes before moving onto a rack to cool.
Ice cream scoops used, as always

Ice cream scoops used, as always

